Oven baked pork loin

This is one of the easiest and most delicious meals I know how to cook.  I usually start with a small-medium sized pork loin, since I’m usually only cooking for 2, but the same procedure would work with larger pork loins or pork roast (except you may have to cook it longer.)  Image

Here are the other ingredients:

– Seasonings- you can use whatever you like- I use blue Tony’s Chachere’s, salt, seasoned pepper and garlic pepper

– Veggies- I don’t usually add veggies, but this time I put potatoes and carrots around the meat and they turned out delicious!

– Cooking oil

– Chicken broth and/or beef broth- I used 1 small can of each

– Cornstarch or flour (or a pre-made gravy thickener if you prefer)

– Oven-safe skillet or pan and lid (foil works if you don’t have a lid)

Step 1: Coat the meat with a healthy layer of seasoning.  This makes a nice crust on the meat as it cooks.  

Step 2: Coat the bottom of your skillet or pan with cooking oil.  I used a 15 inch black iron skillet.  This is ridiculously huge.  (We lost our smaller skillet and haven’t gotten another one.)  Use whatever size you need to fit your meat.  A rectangle roasting pan or dutch oven works well.  I’m from Louisiana so I think everything tastes better cooked in a black iron skillet, but really anything will do.  Arrange the meat in the center and the veggies around it.Image

Step 3: Cover with a lid or with foil and bake at 425° for 45 minutes.  Then uncover and bake at 450° for 15 minutes.  If you have a larger cut of meat check the internal temperature to make sure it’s cooked all the way through.

Image

Step 4: Remove the meat and veggies from the pan and set aside.  Leave the drippings in the pan.  In a separate bowl, mix equal parts gravy thickener (cornstarch, flour or pre-made thickener) and water.  I like to use cornstarch for pork gravy.  I think started with about 2 tbsp cornstarch and 2 tbsp water.  

Step 5: Add the chicken and/or beef broth to meat drippings and bring to a boil.  At this point I transferred the dripping to a smaller black iron skillet, but this is not necessary unless your cooking dish is also ridiculously huge.  If you used a large roasting pan to cook the meat, transferring the dripping might be a good idea if you don’t want an exorbitantly large amount of gravy.

Step 6: Once the broth is boiling, add your thickening mixture while stirring constantly.  The gravy should start to thicken up pretty quickly.  If it doesn’t thicken enough, mix up more thickener and add in the same manner.  

Step 7: Slice up the meat and add it back to the gravy (this lets all the seasonings from the crust on the meat mix in and season the gravy.)  

Image

Step 8: Serve over rice.  I leave the veggies separate, but if you can add them to the gravy if that’s your style.  Enjoy!

Image

About loriw456

I am a 23 year old nursing student at McNeese State University. I received a BS in biological sciences in 2010 and just returned to pursue a nursing career! I am engaged to be married in December and I love to craft and cook my days away (when I'm not studying!)

Posted on March 8, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

